American Hosta Growers Association
2016 Hosta of the Year
With the increasing number of hosta cultivars being introduced each year it is increasingly difficult for nursery owners and gardeners to choose just the right hostas for their sales areas and gardens. To this end the American Hosta Growers Association established the AHGA Hosta of the Year in 1996. It is selected by a vote of AHGA members. Award winners are hostas that are good garden plants in all regions of the country, are widely available in sufficient supply, and retail for about $15.00 in the year of selection.

2016 Hosta of the Year
'Curly Fries'
(Solberg  2008)

Color - Gold
Size - Small (11"ht x 20"w)
Habit - Mounding
Bloom - Lavender

Parent - ‘Pineapple Upsidedown Cake' x unknown
Highly ruffled narrow leaves emerge yellow and then fade to near white. Vigorous. The scape is deep purple, topped with lavender flowers in mid to late summer.
Prior Hosta of the Year Winners

2014'Abiqua Drinking Gourd'
2013'Rainforest Sunrise'
2011'Praying Hands'
2010'First Frost'
2009'Earth Angel'
2008'Blue Mouse Ears'
2006'Stained Glass'
2004'Sum and Substance'
2003'Regal Splendor'
1999'Paul's Glory'
1998'Fragrant Bouquet'
1996'So Sweet'
Photo courtesy of AHGA member Green Hill Farm