American Hosta Growers Association
2021 Hosta of the Year

With the increasing number of hosta cultivars being introduced each year it is increasingly difficult for nursery owners and gardeners to choose just the right hostas for their sales areas and gardens. To this end the American Hosta Growers Association established the AHGA Hosta of the Year in 1996. It is selected by a vote of AHGA members. Award winners are hostas that are good garden plants in all regions of the country, are widely available in sufficient supply, and retail for about $15.00 in the year of selection. 

2021 Hosta of the Year
'Rainbow's End'
(Hansen  2005)

Color - Medio-variegated
Size - Small (11"ht x 21"w)
Habit - Mounding
Bloom - Purple

Parentage - sport of ‘Obsession’ 
This yellow centered TC sport of ‘Obsession’ features very thick, dark green leaves with a flared center pattern. The bright yellow center becomes white by summer. Pale purple flowers on red scapes in late summer. PP#17,251
Previous Hosta of the Year
2020    'Dancing Queen'
2019    'Lakeside Paisley Print'
2018    'World Cup'
2017    'Brother Stefan'
2016    'Curly Fries'
2015    'Victory'
2014    'Abiqua Drinking Gourd'
2013    'Rainforest Sunrise'
2012    'Liberty'
2011    'Praying Hands'
2010    'First Frost'
​2009    'Earth Angel'
2008    'Blue Mouse Ears'
2007    'Paradigm'
2006    'Stained Glass'
2005    'Striptease'
2004    'Sum and Substance'
2003    'Regal Splendor'
2002    'Guacamole'
2001    'June'
2000    'Sagae'
1999    'Paul's Glory'
1998    'Fragrant Bouquet'
1997    'Patriot'
1996    'So Sweet'